Poets logo

invisible groom

an epistolary poem

By Morgana MillerPublished about a year ago Updated 8 months ago 1 min read
18
invisible groom
Photo by photo nic on Unsplash

Dear whiskey,

I never spoke my vows to you.

I never pledged my loyalty to your fraudulent glow of

glass jar fireflies, that twinkling trap of revelry,

because I've never known a feeling more lonely

than when you reach for me. So I'm sure that

I never invited you to my bed, yet frozen here I lie

in your sweat-yellowing linen embrace, while I

stay awake thinking about the looped-wire snare

that you hang nightly in the fucking air, ready to trap

any of my words born with necks thick enough

to tangle up. And hey, you can't commit to a dead thing, so

I know I never slid a ring over the sour foul finger on

the left hand that rots in my kitchen overnight and

slashes my nostrils like broken glass on bare feet

those mornings when he’s still asleep and I'm

up first, opening the blinds to let some light in.

But you're cleverest when you're gone,

and so too is the bone-tight corset you dress me in,

because just one sharp breath will surprise me, reminds me,

your creeping absence was only a clear day in spring and,

like lightning in the rain—

when I hear thunder,

I know I'll see you again.

In wait,

A reluctant bride.

fact or fictionsad poetry
18

About the Creator

Morgana Miller

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (16)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock11 months ago

    Powerfully evocative & thoroughly depressing. I do believe you've captured the alcoholic's plight perfectly.

  • Susanna Kiernanabout a year ago

    This is so powerful I am genuinely in awe. The imagery is so vivid and emotive. It's so deep and dark, almost gothic. I really adored this.

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    The emotional depth of this line," I never pledged my loyalty to your fraudulent glow of glass jar fireflies, that twinkling trap of revelry," speaks so much. ❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Morgana... I am sorry to say that I am utterly speechless. Breathless and frozen in the wake that was left by this masterpiece! I wish I had a more sincere or detailed comment about how incredible this piece was. But as I have said, you have left me utterly speechless! So heartbreaking and beautiful! 💜

  • Caroline Cravenabout a year ago

    I thought this was fantastic.

  • Naomi Goldabout a year ago

    This feels like your most personal poem, yet I don’t want to believe it is because it’s so heavy. Either way, you’ve created something that many will identify with, and managed to do it so artistically.

  • Sariahabout a year ago

    Morgana, your writing is always so incredible. And writing a poem where the concept is being married to alcohol is such a unique view (at least to me it is). Your imagery is spectacular, and your words are devastating in the best way. Great job!

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    I've circled back around the read this a few times now. Everytime it burrows under my skin a little more. There are more then a few layers within the poem (or atleast in how I'm reading it) ... It's really great. Bravo, Morgana.

  • Paul Stewartabout a year ago

    Morgana, this is stunning and I imagine I'll be coming back to say congrats on Top Story soon! I felt every single word of this! I've had addiction problem of a different kind and my dad had alcoholism issues, so I totally get it.

  • Kristen Balyeatabout a year ago

    THIS is SO impressive! Seriously, wow. I felt this one, deeply... ahhh, dear whiskey.

  • Caroline Janeabout a year ago

    Oh my. This is excellent. Well done.

  • Beth Sarahabout a year ago

    Wow - this is an astonishing poem. Bravo 👏

  • Quincy.Vabout a year ago

    a powerful exploration of addiction and its hold on the human psyche.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Excellent string of words... And relatable too, for me that is. I've been divorced from vodka for a while now. This was a great subject for the challenge!

  • Stephanie J. Bradberryabout a year ago

    Oh boy, this hits deep!

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh I really liked the way this unfolded. I've been the reluctant bride of a different brand. Well done :)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.