Poets logo

Invisible battlefield

Illuminating the hidden struggles of chronic pain

By Kelly DickersonPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
Fibromyalgia

Ache, a relentless companion in my days,

Burdensome weight, woven into life's maze.

Cruelly concealed, this invisible pain,

Dwells within, where only I can explain.

Enduring each moment, a silent strife,

Fighting the battles, hidden from plain sight.

Gritting my teeth, a brave face I display,

Holding my ground, despite the pain's foray.

Invisible tendrils, gripping my core,

Juxtaposing agony, with a smile I wore.

Keeping up appearances, a daily chore,

Living with this pain, evermore.

My body, a canvas, etched with despair,

Navigating life's path, with ceaseless care.

Overwhelming fatigue, a constant woe,

Pain's unwelcome presence, it continues to grow.

Quietly yearning for a respite, a release,

Reclaiming moments of solace, inner peace.

Struggling, yet resilient, I persevere,

Treasuring the glimmers of hope that appear.

Unseen, yet undeniably real,

Vexing and wearying, an arduous ordeal.

With strength, I face the battles I fight,

Xeroxing courage, in the darkest of nights.

Yearning for understanding, empathy's grace,

Zealously advocating, standing in my place.

inspirational

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

  • Test5 months ago

    Your writing stood out, and I couldn't find any flaws; I liked it immensely. You're welcome! Wishing you a day full of smiles always on vocal.media.

KDWritten by Kelly Dickerson

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.