Poets logo

Invisible

Food for Thought

By Monsoor AliPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
3

You do not see me

But I am here

You do not see me

And still you fear

And I the monster

A big, black, angry monster of sorts

So you shut your eyes and hope I disappear

But I am still here

And pitiful

Lonely

Weary

Forgotten and lost

Yet still a man

But you do not acknowledge

Still a human being

Yet you offer no compassion

Excuse me but

I am here

And you refuse to see

This broken, hardened, homeless man

Your nightmare

The big black monster

Living in the shadows of humanity

Hiding in plain sight

Avoiding the spotlight

Walking softly and humbled

God's child

Free and yet still a slave

A burden to society

A father's failure

A waist

But I am still here

Still alive

Breathing and needing

Wanting

Suffering

So how is it so

That you do not see me

My pain

My struggle

The injustices

How is it so

That you can not hear my screams

How can one be so cold

So distant

So blind

Or is it that I am simply

Invisible

social commentary
3

About the Creator

Monsoor Ali

I am an artist, writer, teacher, producer, activist, and student of life...Based in Washington DC.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.