Poets logo

Intuition

Dreaming Of The Forest

By Willow SeitzPublished about a year ago 1 min read
Like
Image created using DALL-E

It was late in the noon, the sunlight gold and splayed

When I wandered through the forest, no others in my stay.

That was when my mother called me, her voice loud and all afraid;

“Where are you, darling, where are you?” she hailed. “Come home!”

I shouted out to her, for I did not want to leave.

The flowers at my feet were being quite the tease.

And the river, it looked so peaceful, with its ripples and its surge.

“Where are you?” My mother wailed. “Please, darling, come home.”

Hesitantly I rose from that compelling water hearth

And started back toward the mirthless voice that called me.

“Coming, I’m leaving!” I told her, the sunlight now gray and waning;

I did not realize how late it had become.

However when I returned to my little house, it had an empty air.

My mother was not present, had never even been there.

She was at work, no other place did she attend;

I told her what had happened, and this to me she said:

“Do not go into the woods again today.”

-

Author's Note: When I was a child, I got lost in the woods behind my house for approximately eight hours. I ended up stumbling into my neighbour's property down the street as the sun was setting. I was covered in blood, scratches, sticks and leaves. I couldn't remember much of anything. For the following week I had unnerving dreams about the forest, and to this day, I have a phobia of being alone in the woods.

nature poetrysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Willow Seitz

W.D. Seitz is a fantasy and science fiction author. When she’s not reading or writing, she enjoys painting in watercolour, riding her motorcycle and watching Avatar the Last Airbender.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.