Poets logo

Intuition

March 1st 2020 at 4:44pm

By Brandie GoffPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
2
Intuition
Photo by Kyle Glenn on Unsplash

I had an epiphany

We’re not actually meant to be

This moment is intense and intimate

And in fact, you’ve kinda grown on me

but that’s the jist of it

You’re supposed to be the homie

Not the lover, not the husband

But my emotions are growing

So how far is too far before we throw it in

How long is too long sharing space sideways

Cuddling, making you feel safe for the next

How far is too far when we project what we expect

Of the future, our daydreams, our hopeless romantic acts

How soon is too soon to cut the cord before we wreck

How do we keep the companionship in tact?

If my epiphany’s correct then there’s no worries to attach too

In the same breath, I have to release the person I’ve become attached to.

You.

- Brandie G.

slam poetry
2

About the Creator

Brandie Goff

A magician who loves poetry, travel, and house music.

Sometimes writing is my therapy.

Sometimes writing is my fantasy.

Which world do you want to explore?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.