Poets logo

Intrusive Thoughts

Trigger Warning* Emotional poem about depression

By Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob BossPublished 4 months ago 1 min read
2
Intrusive Thoughts
Photo by Stormseeker on Unsplash

Intrusive Thoughts

I have been thinking of wading out into water

Going further than just knee deep

Sinking into the deep end

And falling into cold watery sleep

I have been thinking about sharp cold steel

The kind with the cutting edge

Or crisp cool air on a tall building

And the view from over the ledge

I have been thinking of chalky white pills

The ones with the bitter taste

Chased down with some sort of 100 proof

So the buzz doesn't go to waste

I have been thinking about bad drugs

The kind you put into your veins

That if you take too much at one time

It may be a permanent end to the pain

I have been thinking of actually living

Let the chaos take me nice and slow

To live a life and tell some tales

I'm sure that must be the best way to go

I am thinking of a blessed recovery

A mind that's free and clear

A victorious win over the darkness

Because I am still here

I am seeing the path that's before me

The one that looks so scary and hard

But that is the journey of living

And today is a good day to start.

sad poetryMental HealthheartbreakGratitudeCONTENT WARNING
2

About the Creator

Abigail Adams -The Mad Cow Mob Boss

I have been a writer since I was able to form sentences. I find passion in writing fiction and positive special interest pieces about extra special people! My love of writing keeps me going, but the love of my children keeps me alive!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    Wow I love it. Well written and meaningful. Thank you!!🥰❤️🫶

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.