Poets logo

Intoxicated

Love made me do it

By Moi LiPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Intoxicated
Photo by Katrin Hauf on Unsplash

There's no one else who’d ever hear

Those words you’d whispered in my ears

That moment you held me in your arms

I’d felt so light, swept by your charm

I knew that instance fate had claimed

my world to never remain the same

You’re holding me tender

You ‘re holding me right

Sliding me under

we glide ever so light

I move to your groove

This is a dance we have proved

Take me I said

And take me you did

Choose me I said

You owned me instead

I gaze in your eyes as you tell our story

Reading my mind you lean down for me

Holding my gaze with a knowing bliss

Your breath on my lips as you plant a kiss

You ignite my senses

You stoke my fire

You draw out my soul

To come dance in the fire

You make love to my soul

I've learned to surrender

I'm not done you say

My body's on fire

Bending over to receive you

My tower

You devour with power

your flower

And then

You whispered into the darkness of the hour

Those words I’d never hear, so rated

My mind and my soul satiated

You're all mine, and I am yours

Pulling me close, you let out those tender words

“I'm, Intoxicated."

Reference:

"Love made me do it" is a collection of poems that are reflections of the poets search for true love. The One that lasts. The One that is here to stay. The poems journey through different experiences, from real relationships, vastly varied from each other, with each one almost just as promising as the last.

By Marco Bianchetti on Unsplash

In this piece the writer expresses her thoughts, that haven't been communicated with her partner yet. In this relationship, the poet has attachment tendencies of an anxious partner. She describes the dynamics of the relationship where, her partner has attachment tendencies of an avoidant person. “Anxious” and “Avoidant” are attachment styles based on the “Attachment Theory," originally conceived by psychoanalyst John Bowlby, who immersed in mental health and developmental pschol0gy.

Reading the book opened my mind to a whole new perspective to relationships and understanding them which helped survive the

The “Attachment Theory,” used to study relationships is referenced from the book, Attached, by Amir Levine and Rachell S.F. Heller. The Neuroscientist and psychologist duo, used the concept of the Attachment Theory to decipher relationships from a new perspective. It completely changed the way the world looked at relationships, in current times. It is so simple, yet comprehensive. It encompasses the idiosyncrasies of every relationship, the quirks, the eccentricities, all boiling down to the core of every situation. Having once applied this theory, it is hard for most of us, not to instinctively relate to the attachment theory, when studying relationship dynamics.

In the poem, " Intoxicated" The chemistry in the relationship is at it's best in the physical form. When their bodies meet, their communication comes alive. The couple seem to understand each other better then, than through spoken words.

Their bodies communicate silently, almost effortlessly in these intimate moments, giving body language, a whole new meaning. He understands the needs of her body, as if his mind calculated every movement precisely. She on the other hand, has learnt to reciprocate in perfect timing, like a synchronized dance, unfailing every single time.

In this piece she describes how, she enjoys the scrupulous way their bodies unite, in the same perfect dance every single time. Even as the precision of perfection over time still mesmerizes her, the thought of exploring new areas, grazes her mind ever so slightly, every time. Just as much as she thrives on his sexual prowess, she silently wishes her partner openly showed that same hunger and passion in their relationship. She hoped he would speak the same words with her, in times outside of physical union.

This moment here captures the quintessential contrast in the two attachment styles where the Anxious style needs consistent affirmation to reconfirm their trust in each other. While the Avoidant personality type only needs to show it once, and intends that to be taken as word for life.

By Anne Nygård on Unsplash

If you enjoyed reading this article, take a look at more poems by the writer on their page, in the same series," Love Made Me Do It."

If this poem resonated with you, and relationship dynamics intrigues you too, please show your support and Like or Tip the writer. Having an audience goes a long way to encourages budding writers to create more content and add more poems to their collections.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Moi Li

Moi is a passionate writer and a budding poet, she discovered writing through journaling. Her works have evolved into some fine poetry, giving voice to some impertenent social causes, that have found its way into the hearts of the readers.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.