Poets logo

Into This Life

My Appalachian Heritage

By Dan R FowlerPublished 2 years ago 1 min read

Into this life

Having been asked by people here and there,

I answer them and then they stare.

Perhaps it wasn’t the answer they sought,

But there’s only one answer I give them, all else is for naught

They look amused, laugh lines riding up their face,

When I divulge to them my upbringing, my humble birthplace.

There have been many opinions by those who don’t know,

About West Virginians, if the truth be told.

We’re a proud member with an elite heritage,

Who laid the foundations, coal miners it is said.

We have a history that’s not shared by many,

And when asked for help, we’ve given our last penny.

There’s something more that lies covering our bones,

Than a simple covering of flesh that authors have made known.

There’s honor and courage and thanksgiving we proclaim,

Being aware of my heritage, I’ll never be the same.

So, let the world and its opinions say what they will,

About West Virginia coal miners, especially those from the hills.

They continue to influence, to write what was done,

Stories that touch lives and there’s still more to come.

No matter where we travel or the faces we see,

West Virginia’s people, Mountaineers Always free.

It’s memories that preserve us and speak louder than words,

Into this life, this place with memories unblurred,

My life’s story I retell the things that occurred.

By Dan R. Fowler

For Astrid

vintage

About the Creator

Dan R Fowler

Dan R. Fowler. 71, writing is more than a hobby, it's a place for me to become anyone I choose to be, visit mystical scenes, or swim deep within my brain. e-book paperback, or audible. type dan r fowler on the search line. Amazon

.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Dan R FowlerWritten by Dan R Fowler

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.