Poets logo

Into the Mind of a Pessimist

Poetry

By Sharlene AlbaPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Photo by Ian Espinosa on Unsplash

I saw you there.

Your eyes made the strings around my heart tighten, daring me to breathe once more.

You wouldn't be the one for me, but you sure made me lick my lips, sending my fragile thoughts to a place where sin corrupted the guilty.

Your skin, it looked soft, perfectly shaped into perfect masculinity, your lips made me wonder what journeys they had taken.

You'd never get past my wall, but you broke a sweat trying to climb it, the beads of perspiration sliding down the muscle I could never reach.

I saw you there.

Your posture, confident, with a peaceful aura and a stubborn chin, which made me wonder how it would feel to know your secrets.

You wouldn't be able to see through my weak shield, when my words turned your mind into a frenzy of seduction and taboo.

Your smile? Oh, what a poison. One which any silly girl with a dream would die to see.

You'd never know, night after night, my fingertips traced your face from my memory onto a pillow with stories to tell.

You saw me here.

My hands shaking with anger, with desperation, itching to touch a man with such sweet disgrace for love.

You knew, all too well, what a woman with red lips and a brown gaze meant, but your sanity had been questioned at your hesitation.

My lips parted, my breath caught in my throat, words weren't necessary for you.

You laughed at the thought of my rejection, and it came with a price. Didn't it, Love?

My body gravitated towards yours, tempting you, making your eyes darken with lust and loss of common sense.

You saw me here.

My skin, as soft as an angel's, made you tremble, but the blood underneath it had been tainted with the loss of faith.

You didn't try to tame my fire, instead you added more wood, more kisses, more heartbreak.

My tears, streamed down a tired face, as your words weaved a web of tragic romance.

You wanted me, but you'd never have me.

I saw you there.

You saw me here.

Let the flaming trail of pessimism begin.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Sharlene Alba

Full of raw and unfiltered fluid poems, short stories and prompts on love, sex, relationships and life. I also review haircare, skincare and other beauty products. Instagram: grungefirepoetry MissBeautyBargain Facebook: grungefirepoetry

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.