Poets logo

Into Realms Unseen

Poetry Contest Submission #VocalNPM

By Jackie BarrowsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

Tell me; am I in a parallel world?

This feels incredibly real…

I see it in bold color

And perfect use of light and shadow.

My mind is a wonderland;

Every time I go to sleep at night,

The movies in my head play in full detail.

I am fully immersed.

I feel the wind and water on my face,

I hear mumbled voices trying to talk to me,

I see the bright sunlight and clear moonlight,

And I experience the passing of time.

In doing so, a story is told….

In fact, sometimes several stories are told each night!

They stay in my memories years after I first dreamed them,

And even come back to me in new ways and different angles.

Scientists are still trying to make breakthroughs

In the study of the human mind

Especially when it comes to where the mind goes

When it dreams.

What I want to know is

Why and how my mind comes up with these stories to tell me?

Am I missing something crucial about this world

In the realms unseen?

sad poetry
1

About the Creator

Jackie Barrows

Jackie Barrows is an artist, a writer, and all around creative soul who enjoys bringing new ideas and stories to life. She wears many hats as a Graphic Designer, a blogger, and Lead Production Artist for R.A.W. Productions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.