Poets logo

Instructions to the Painter

As gold as a cloud that can't rain...

By Eric DovigiPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
1

As gold as a cloud that can’t rain,

And goes about its days hoping that the other clouds

Won’t figure it out. Inconspicuous.

That’s the gold of my blue eye.

As pink as an only child,

Born to an only child, on Mother’s Day.

That’s the pink of me when you see me

With my brothers and sisters.

As indigo as a graceless child, late to talk,

Slow to rise, timid to fall, close to corners, far from the middle path,

Running through youth as if through a dark wood.

That’s the indigo of my cheek when you see me afraid.

As pewter as a summer bear,

Caught in a trap, and in the sun, by a stream

Which he considered his. When the pain recedes,

And dissolves, like pigments in your rinse cup,

What takes its place is the pewter of my finger tips,

Right about now.

I hope you capture me. I hope I’m as white in your hand

As a ball in a glove. I hope I’m as yellow in your jar as a bee in a cup.

I hope I’m as red in your cheek as a crime in the snow.

I hope you capture me.

art
1

About the Creator

Eric Dovigi

I am a writer and musician living in Arizona. I write about weird specific emotions I feel. I didn't like high school. I eat out too much. I stand 5'11" in basketball shoes.

Twitter: @DovigiEric

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.