Poets logo

Insomnia

The Art of Wasting Time

By Joshua AldenPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

Why can I never sleep at night?

I lie there and think, watch the night consume everything but me

That encroaching black calling to me

Mocking me, teasing me.

The fucking hours I count, the tears I shed

Thinking about useless memories and wishing they were a dream

Those nightmares would be a god send.

Because anything is worse than the nothing I feel.

A stab in the dark, the life leaving my eyes

Maybe nothing is a good thing, a blank slate to taint once again

The light slowly creeping in through my bedroom window

Calling to me, holding out a hand

Except it isn't there at all.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Joshua Alden

I've always had a passion for creative writing from a young age and I want people to see just how i express myself

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.