Poets logo

Inside the Egg

A dreamy poem by ED 5/20/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Inside the Egg
Photo by Dennis Anderson on Unsplash

Lay in my bed

Alive inside my blurry head

Energy low my body dead

Look around this blank egg

Will myself to swallow the dregs

Get up now my conscience begs

Life goes on just out of sight

Turn my eyes toward faded light

What I’d do with all my might

Loll my head from side to side

Trapped in sheets my time I bide

Wait for the sun to hide

Awash in colors of a shell

Unbothered though this curse befell

My sleeping hours before the bell

Time to wake and time to rise

Breath of relief some heavy sighs

Open my eyes and realize

What I had dreamt was my real life

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.