Poets logo

Inside

Body dysphoria

By Melissa IngoldsbyPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
31
Inside
Photo by Aiony Haust on Unsplash

I’m dying inside,

I’m dead.

I’m captivated by your lack of a reflection, and I see myself,

I do recognize the picture in front of me,

It’s me,

Only dead.

I’m not afraid of feeling this way,

I’m not afraid.

I have never been afraid,

Yet you are,

And yet here I am,

Still breathing in fake air and blowing out

Smoke,

A slow limited death,

Because I move and turn and talk

And thank everyone for their cooperation

And how my own limited view on the world

Is captured,

Captured in that lense of time and fear,

Only for the actual picture, the snapshot

To show a well rounded mother and supportive friend.

I feel that heavy pain in my heart, making me nervous and nauseous,

A dysphoria of body,

I cannot be my own movements,

They become me.

My very movements give me the implication of living,

Yet I am not.

I am dying,

Breathing life into my loved ones, the last bit of

Dreams that I can dream.

I’m screaming with sound into a watery film,

A film which seems to only

Have the reels of the most fun me,

And everyone is watching,

Pretending to not see the extended cut

Of my heart in the drain.

I’m dying,

Not lost anymore,

I’m trying,

I won’t quit.

My heart is still alive,

My thoughts new.

I’m dying, dying,

I cannot get you to see

The truth.

sad poetry
31

About the Creator

Melissa Ingoldsby

I am a published author on Patheos,

I am Bexley by Resurgence Novels

The Half Paper Moon on Golden Storyline Books for Kindle.

My novella The Job and Atonement will be published this year by JMS Books

Carnivorous published by Eukalypto

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.