Poets logo

Inside my mind

A collection of anecdotes

By Alicia RodgersPublished 2 years ago 2 min read
1

I left when

Sunshine was creeping on your doorstep

But thunderstorms and clouds

is what laid ahead of me.

Even in my most suffocating pain

I put you and your happiness first

And that is how I know

my love for you is eternal.

---

I touched you

with a softness I have never known

Worried that one wrong move

would cause you to push me away

and lock your heart up forever.

I travelled your maze

and left behind everything

with demons and whispers being the only thing to surround me.

At the end, I found your heart

But I wasn't enough

As you chose not to follow it.

---

I cannot find happiness in your absence

I cling on to the hope of a future

But it is the empty space from now until then

That saddens my heart and leaves me lonely.

---

Believe it or not, The Notebook has made me realise

That no matter what life throws at you

If you truly love someone

You will find your way back to them in the end.

All I can do is hope that you find your way back to me.

---

I see people everywhere

In a busy underground station

I see many faces

yet i'm always searching for yours

One day I hope you'll be there.

---

Until we look at each other as if we are one species or one family, there will be divide... And when there is divide there will be fear, and when there is fear there will be hatred - and everyone knows what hatred can do. The problem lies within the way we perceive one another.

---

Be like a badminton player towards people you love. Even when you know the shuttlecock's gonna fall, you still run, dive - give it your all to make it fly, because there's a chance that it will. Moral is, your efforts can make a huge difference to someone's life.

heartbreakinspirationalsad poetry
1

About the Creator

Alicia Rodgers

Hi All, I'm currently a Law student in the UK. Writing has always been a passion of mine ever since i can remember. If you'd like to contact me my social media is as follows: @CherryAura_

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.