Poets logo

Inside My Mind

With The Time That Passes

By Ilana WeissPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I look around,

And I'm surrounded by darkness.

All I feel is the cold air around me,

And the cool solid ground beneath my feet.

You tell me to look for a chest,

But there is no light or switch.

I can hear your voice,

But I cannot see you.

So I walk forward until I find it,

And you tell me to reach into my pocket for a key,

Which opens the chest to another key.

So I open the chest, take the key inside, and replace it with the other.

You tell me to turn around and walk forward until I find a door,

And you tell me behind this door is a set of stairs.

I unlock the door,

Guided by only your voice down these steps,

Feeling gusts of wind as I hear their eerie whistle,

Foreboding but intriguing,

I know I must listen.

So I walk.

Shrouded with darkness,

The wind almost stealing away my only source of warmth;

My clothes and myself.

As I get to the bottom,

Lights start to mysteriously flicker,

And in between each flicker,

I can see boxes,

Their contents spilled out all over the floor,

Scattered pieces of my broken memories,

Like shards of glass.

I can feel them beneath my feet,

Cutting my skin,

Blood pooling into them.

I can hear them screaming my name,

Begging me to put them back together,

And the voice that guided me is gone.

Welcome to my subconscious.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Ilana Weiss

I am an aspiring writer. I have a little boy is two years old and currently pregnant with my second child. I am 21 years old and I love learning new things. I have an even stronger love for nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.