Poets logo

Insecurity (is the monster in your closet)

For the Vocal Challenge: Dialogue Poetry

By BellePublished 13 days ago Updated 13 days ago 2 min read
https://www.pinterest.ca/pin/826269862916320277/

Do you think I'm going to make it?

Will you?

Maybe.

Give me a definitive answer. Will you?

I think so.

It's not good enough.

I will.

That's better. Can you do it?

Probably.

Can. You. Do. It?

Yes, I can.

Are you just telling me what I want to hear?

...

Well?

What do you want me to say?

I want you to believe this will work.

It's nonsense, isn't it?

It's not nonsense.

It is. It's nonsense. Saying something "is" doesn't make it so.

Hold on.

It's not a science. It doesn't make any sense. You can't just manifest something into existence.

Wait.

Into truth. It's not possible. This is stupid.

Stop!

...

Tell me about something you used to be afraid of.

Why?

Humor me.

I don't know... Scary movies?

Is that a question?

No, I used to be afraid of horror movies.

Did they make you think something scary was in your closet? Maybe under your bed?

Yes. As a kid, they gave me nightmares.

Did they stop eventually?

Yeah. Why are you–

Why'd they stop?

Well, Mum explained it to me. The effects and everything. We watched a behind-the-scenes.

So you saw it for what it really was.

Yeah.

And the closet monsters went away.

Yes.

Fear and insecurity are similar. You're worried about your capabilities, or incapabilities, the same way you were afraid of those closet monsters.

What do you mean?

You need to hear the positive thing to mediate it. Even if the closet monster is real, you don't need to believe it. Believe it isn't, don't give into it, and watch it go away.

I don't know. It sounds like a band-aid to me. Just saying the monster isn't there doesn't mean it isn't. What if it is?

Who says the monsters weren't there?

It's stupid to believe they were.

It is stupid, isn't it?

Yes. They're not real. It was just a little kid's–

No, think about it. It IS stupid, isn't it?

Yeah.

You're not thinking.

It is stupid.

Then tell me, are you going to make it?

I think so.

The monsters aren't real, (y/n).

I know.

So, are you going to make it?

Yeah.

Mean it.

Yes.

Yes, what?

Yes. I am going to make it.

sad poetryStream of Consciousnesssocial commentaryProseperformance poetryMental HealthinspirationalFree Verse

About the Creator

Belle

I host unofficial challenges and enjoy writing microfiction and poetry.

ALL EYES ON RAFAH. 35k+ murdered in Palestine. 80k+ injured. 25k orphaned. ~10k missing/under rubble.

Top Stories:

2023 - SEPT

2024 - MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY | MAY | JUNE

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

  • angela hepworth13 days ago

    Awesome work, Belle! You dive into the human psyche so well in this.

  • A well-wrought dialogue! Some monsters are real, of course, but they feed off the satisfaction we give them and it is best to let them starve!

  • This was extremely powerful and soooo profound! Loved this so much!

BelleWritten by Belle

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.