Poets logo

Insect

A Poem

By Molly WintonPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

He watched us watch him

Disgust in our eyes as he sat drooping

Taking a quiet drag

His crooked fingers

Stained yellow by bad habits

Clamped around his cigarette

It was all that mattered to him in the world

The other misshapen hand reached out

Trembling in its glove

Soiled by the filth of the streets

People looked away evading his rough stinking touch

Reaching into my pocket I pulled out a single note

Folding it into my clenched fist

He had noticed me approaching him

Just as before his arms outstretched

His tarnished claws cupped

Displaying his fingernails

Thick with dirt

His hands screamed for kindness

I placed it carefully in his palm

He grasped mine suddenly

His skin felt coarse, rough like sandpaper

His filth rubbing off onto

My own clean skin.

But beneath all that and most importantly

His hands felt truly grateful.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Molly Winton

Currently in my final year of studying English Literature with Creative Writing. I love writing short stories and poems. Check out my lifestyle and travel blog- https://mollywinthemiddle.blogspot.com/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.