Poets logo

Innocence Undefiled

Moments From My Early Childhood at Christmas Time

By Matthew F. Blowers IIIPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like
A Warm Fire and Fond Memories

I remember Christmas Eves

as the most sleepless

night I ever knew

when I was just a child.

filled with sweet anticipation

of my presents packed

in Santa’s sleigh

brought my biggest smiles

Listening for the pitter-patter

on the roof over my head

of 8 reindeer landing gently

with their very heavy sled

Innocence undefiled.

With no sugar plums

dancing in my head

cause my mind was filled instead

with all I’d asked Santa to bring

knowing most of them would never be

cause my family knew some poverty

yet still my hopes took wings

Chorus-

But Christmas morning brought the usual

underwear P.J.'s and a sock half full,

of hard candies meant to suck….

with 5 kids to please at Christmas time

I got a couple of toys from the five and dime

but it was just enough…..

cause I realized even as a boy

that these gifts brought both my parents joy

wrapped in newspaper with love….

Love that I will carry till I’m old

worth much more than money, toys or gold

cause gifts are just some stuff.

And I remember

when the New Year passed

how sad I used to be

when our tree was cast

on the curb out by the street

dripping just a few stray icicles

left to fade away in the bitter cold

till it vanished that same week,

But it taught me all things beautiful

should be cherished more

cause their temporal

cause soon they’re gone away

Like my mom and dad who are no longer here

both their lives were curbed

and we all wept tears

on those tragic days,

Chorus-

and now I’m wishing Christmas

would bring the usual

underwear P.J.'s and a sock half full,

of hard candies meant to suck….

with 5 kids to please at Christmas time

and a couple of toys from the five and dime

it would be more than just enough!

cause I’ve realized ever since I was a boy

that these gifts brought both my parents joy

wrapped in newspaper with love….

Love that I wish once more I could hold

worth much more than money, toys or gold

cause gifts are just some stuff

Love that I will share until I’m old.

worth much more than money, toys or gold,

and that’s my Christmas story told.

Art~Whimsically Yours Studio

Matthew F. Blowers III-©-2016

From a poem into lyrics and a song

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Matthew F. Blowers III

About Me :

White House Artist, Actor, Sculptor, Teacher, Singer, Songwriter and Poet with over 850 songs , over 2 and a half million hits and 4,000 poems so far.

I do voiceovers for T.V. and radio commercials and theatre as well

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.