Poets logo

Inner Fire

Strength and Shortcoming

By Christopher O'SullivanPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I have something inside me

That burns so very brightly

A feeling that I am good

Doing everything I should

I seek it when I feel pain

For a way to push again

To triumph over my fear

And protect what I hold dear

Fuels me when I've had enough

Pushes me when time is tough

I nurture this little flame

Knowing it will do the same

I feed it so it can grow

But keep it hidden below

This rage must be used safely

It is not for all to see

I coddle this feral child

Ready for when it runs wild

A useful tool, without doubt

As long as the head holds clout

Cannot be left uncontrolled

Or disaster will unfold

Greatest strength and biggest flaw

Rage I keep, a hungry maw.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Christopher O'Sullivan

Poet, filmaker. Please feel free to check out my you tube channel https://youtube.com/@diofyproductions?si=eQKCpdk1asRf1G-g to see what sort of fun shorts i'm making.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Eiman Asif6 months ago

    nice one...... really melts the heart Beautifully written

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.