Poets logo

Inner City

Anacusis

By Hani MalcolmPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Inner City
Photo by Ray Fragapane on Unsplash

these swatches of cobblestone, monotone

the dank grey squalor, be my home

I’m partially a scholar, mixed with 2/5ths patron

little arty but hardly a badge, to call home

part my path from other missions

the pain makes my eyes glisten

the bottle turn to a game of attrition

balanced with the taste of blue and white collar

just to get a slight increase in the dollar

track back through the statements

oh s***, agents

Juliette binoche

with piles of the dosh

on a tangent, tangerine

fear the loss

what team you play

oh swear down lacrosse

Cali, x mark the spot

see the orange be obvio,

but the rest is not

I want a chick, novio

over dub a VO

pixels on the tv show

the ebb and flow of my mind go

turqouise-ey green

that’s placing hues directly in the scene

like a one man show, with Laurie as the team

I try to change the channel, but noisy static all I see on the screen

so what do I deem impactful

poly filla till the crack full

the mind's eye actual

Horus, factual

hours slipped past, and the hand hit the high point

my plans less saturated

burn my fingers, touching embers still not sated

and in turn smell and disdain lingers

and the stain in my eyes do spread to my fingers

cos monkey see monkey do

fingers follow commands that started

avec les yeux

I play a board game while you check for clues

I been trekking round lo like I got nothing toulouse

clin doeil

it’s like one eye open

one wide shut

3rd eye stolen

indigo

hit a stroke of the luck

art
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.