Poets logo

Inhale Me

Spit Me Out

By River Gilliam Published 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Inhale Me
Photo by Nguyen Linh on Unsplash

Oh, how I would love

To be his cigarette

If only I could be

Held between his lips

To be inhaled by him

Oh, how I would love

To be the tobacco that he chews

To be swallowed

And spit out

By you

From afar, I sit by the water

And watch you

Dark peppery hair

Faded down into your tattoos

Read me a story

About the rest of our lives

And I’ll see my reflection

Staring back in your eyes

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

River Gilliam

My dad always said he knew I was going to be a poet because I was crying before I had even completely left the womb. It’s always been my dream to get published someday.

She/her. Cosmetologist. Writer. Vegan. Dog mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.