Poets logo

Influencer or Influenza?

It's viral and spreading!

By Paul StewartPublished 8 months ago 1 min read
Influencer or Influenza?
Photo by Diggity Marketing on Unsplash

Influencer

Influenza

Who can tell the difference?

These days

One and the other seem the same

Gurus

Creators

With inflated egos and "gimmicks"

Anyone

Can be a lost prophet leading the blind

*

Thanks for reading!

Author's Notes: I think this speaks for itself.

slam poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetryinspirational

About the Creator

Paul Stewart

Scottish-Italian poet/writer from Glasgow.

Overflowing in English language torture and word abuse.

"Every man has a sane spot somewhere" R.L Stevenson

The Accidental Poet - Poetry Collection is now available!

https://paulspoeticprints.etsy.com

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Christy Munson18 days ago

    Boom! "Anyone Can be a lost prophet leading the blind". So sad, but true.

  • Sara Wilson8 months ago

    Agreed. I miss the old days of social media where I could watch a funny youtube video in peace and not have to see "hauls" or hear "use my code blah blah blah at checkout" Every thing has become marketing and I'm bored.

  • Poppy 8 months ago

    Love this! So true, an especially profound ending!

  • Brin J.8 months ago

    omg my kitten walked stood on my mouse cursor and unsubscribed🙄. I say the same thing about influencers when my mom asks me why I'm not one. I don't share the same opinion as most, and therefore, I doubt anyone wants to hear me speak.

  • Definitely speaks for itself! Very Paulitical! I loved it! 🍩🥐

  • Grz Colm8 months ago

    Did u write this when you had a cold? Sorry that was funny in my head. I think ..do u mean semi celebrities selling stuff or like gurus..? I don’t mind a good guru! In fact I think there’s a few good ones here on Vocal - look! One even just popped up in the comment below! 😅😂

  • Maybe not anyone. I think I've got the lost prophet part down pretty pat. Now if I could just find some followers, blind or otherwise, lol.

  • Kendall Defoe 8 months ago

    I already wrote a letter on this matter, so I had to see what you would say... Excellent!

  • Real Poetic8 months ago

    Sooo true! False prophets are out here.

  • Mackenzie Davis8 months ago

    Ha, too true. I laugh, but blandly, as I cannot agree more. Getting tired of social medias?

  • Lana V Lynx8 months ago

    This was so cool! I hate the word "influencer" because it is abused in my field - communication - and because it has replaced a more appropriate and better fitting term "opinion leader."

Paul StewartWritten by Paul Stewart

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.