Poets logo

Infinitely Small

Poem

By Andrew ArnettPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

It’s a materialistic world we live in and the prevailing

philosophy is to expand out into greater levels of

physicality and that is the measure of success:

bigger house, cars, more furniture, hydroplanes,

headphones and electric minivans, etc.

but I’m thinking of going the other way I’m thinking

going small is the way I’m thinking of giving everything

away like the wide screen TV and the boxes of clothes that can

clothe a village in India and all this paper work.

I’m going the opposite way I’m going to shrink everything

down to a point where I can carry it all on my key chain

and then I will make that vanish as well.

it won’t be gone it will just be so small as to be

invisible.

in the end, that is all you’re gonna have anyway

when even your material shell gets tossed

on the trash heap and you are nothing but

a point of consciousness.

infinitely small.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Arnett

Freelance writer living in Brooklyn, NY.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.