Poets logo

Infertility

Starting a family is not always easy.

By Alicia AbbottPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

With every passing year it feels like a fleeting dream.

Which is ridiculous since I am only twenty-three .

Oh how I long to be a mother.

Oh how I wish for my husband to be a father.

For everyone else it comes so easily.

For everyone else it is sometimes a surprise.

Planning, and praying.

Hoping, but never really knowing.

Test, after test, after test.

Still nothing.

Maybe in the future we will have a little girl to hold.

Maybe in the future it will just be us until we grow old.

"This is the month," I tell myself.

"This was supposed to be the month," I cry to myself.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alicia Abbott

Other than my husband, poetry and short stories are what get me through the day. Writing is my release.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.