Poets logo

Infamy: [ˈinfəmē]

A state no one wants to live in.(current population unknown)

By Lamar WigginsPublished about a year ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
Top Story - May 2023
34
 Infamy: [ˈinfəmē]
Photo by Mark Tegethoff on Unsplash

Dear, January 6th, 2021

The immutable stigma you carved on the calendar ensures your memory will cycle until the sun rises no more. You are something I can’t unsee...

It's time you know about the indescribable burning sensation you gifted me. I cover up the deep blisters branded into my sense of dignity; the scars left behind need more time to heal...

Were you provoked? Were you justified? Some may say the answer lies in the heart of the beholder. Some say there is no excuse for your behavior. Others laugh at you, not because you're funny but because you were eventual. 'I told you so' they mock.

Division is exactly what it means...Divided.

Half the nation agrees with your inclination to protect your truth. The other half is appalled by the audacity of even questioning their truth. If every picture speaks a thousand words, your representation could fill an entire library.

I look at you and wonder about the true intent of judgement. Can instability be trusted to run a conglomerate? I don't think you can answer that question, because our idea of stability equals the Clash of Titans. Forget I even asked...

It doesn't matter though... Your demonstration teaches lessons more powerful than a Sunday scripture. Your demonstration regresses any effort given to enhance the fabric of unity. You are an oppressor and a professor in this befuddling world of contradictions.

Overwhelming emotional distress can cause miscalculated actions, I understand that - Why sit back and watch your truths get stepped on when you can take it upon yourself to physically invoke a change. Unfortunately, the only thing you changed was your criminal status.

I would love to take this opportunity to invite you to dinner and discuss the commonalities of our lifelong pursuits. Invite a friend or two. Invite the whole city or state, It's on me. We may never share that moment of absolute agreement (you know, the kind where we shake hands with smiles that come naturally) but the more we try, the more we open our minds to the real lesson at hand >"One nation, under God, with liberty and justice for all." I may not be a saint, or even a scholar, but I understand this statement to be an undeniably pursuable truth. Let's give this country another fighting chance. Let's bury our pugnacious nature and seek solutions that are inclusive. Now that you're here, I have learned to live beside you in hopes that mutual effort can stretch far enough to overcome the walls built between us. After all, you are my neighbor.

with dire concern,

January 7th, 2021

By Dyana Wing So on Unsplash

Thank you so much for stopping by! Let's have dinner sometime.

social commentaryperformance poetryinspirationalheartbreakfact or fiction
34

About the Creator

Lamar Wiggins

Creative writer in the Northeast US who loves the paranormal, mystery, true crime, horror, humor, fantasy and poetry. Take a chance, you'll be thoroughly entertained.

"Life is Love Experienced" -LW

LDubs

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (25)

Sign in to comment
  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    I can't even begin translating the thoughts that came into my head reading this. I'm floored. 😳

  • Real Poetic11 months ago

    Why am I just seeing this??? Well constructed and a very well-deserved top story Lamar. 👏🏼❤️

  • Caroline Jane12 months ago

    This is outstanding. The humanity is wonderful. You have navigated a complicated and horrific topic with humility and hope. This is genuinely inspiring. ❤

  • nguyenquochoang12 months ago

    I'm most afraid of bringing scandal to myself, it's too complicated and troublesome

  • Wow, that was fantastic! Really powerful stuff, I love how you spin into a hopeful positive, that was an excellent way to finish that up. Well done!

  • Dana Stewart12 months ago

    Congratulations on Top Story, Lamar!

  • Cathy holmes12 months ago

    Excellent commentary. Congrats on the TS

  • Woo!! Very well done! Congrats on the Top Story Very deserved

  • Dean F. Hardy12 months ago

    Bravo, Lamar.

  • Congratulations on your Top Story❗🎉💯😉

  • JBaz12 months ago

    Congratulations, well done

  • Great piece , congratulations on your Top Story

  • Heather Hubler12 months ago

    I've no idea how I missed this, but wow. What an incredibly relevant and thought-provoking piece. Thank you for putting into words so much of what I've been feeling and thinking. It would be an honor to sit at your table :)

  • Testabout a year ago

    I held my breath as I read this. This is both damning and nuanced at the same time. This is such an important piece, it cuts through all the noise and gets right to the point. The layers added by simply using the word "neighbor" to describe the next day, because the 6th was the day when we saw our "neighbors" do horrific things. Beautifully written and captures the feelings of both watching the events unfold on the 6th and the kind of quiet despair felt on the 7th.

  • I feel so lost here because I think I'm the only one who doesn't understand the significance of 7th January 2021. But from the comments, I know it's something very huge. I'm so sorry for my lack of knowledge 🥺

  • Gina C.about a year ago

    This is powerful beyond words, Lamar! A brilliant take on the challenge. Reading "January 7th, 2021" was a hard hit to the heart. Amazing work!

  • Leslie Writesabout a year ago

    I admire your olive branch approach, but at the same time I am skeptical about getting through to people that align themselves with prejudicial beliefs. It is one thing to disagree with someone's politics, but when they are disagree with your right to exist for your ethnicity or sexuality or gender identity....I just hope that you are right and we can turn this ship around because I fear it is becoming a harsh inhospitable place. This was a wonderful thought provoking piece!

  • Moe Radosevichabout a year ago

    can’t make dinner but sure appreciate the invite, nice job buddy 😊

  • L.C. Schäferabout a year ago

    Might be a wee bit far for me to come for dinner 😁

  • Wonderfully proposed. Have you received any RSVPs yet? And what are the chances we can get everyone to leave their weapons at the door? (BTW, did you know that was the origin of bowling? It used to be that traveling to church was a fairly dangerous affair so you had to be able to defend yourself. But they weren't allowed to bring weapons inside the church, so they left them all piled up outside the door. After worship, they would set the weapons up & roll stones trying to "knock down sins". This is what became nine pin bowling. In the colonies, someone decided that such mirth & frivolity was unseemly & unchristian & they managed to get nine-pin banned. But people still wanted to bowl, so some enterprising individual simply added a tenth pin, which is what so many of us enjoy today.)

  • Strength resides in the proclamations ❤️💯😉🎯📝

  • Roy Stevensabout a year ago

    Hertfelt and beautifully written Lamar. Fantastic line: 'You are an oppressor and a professor in this befuddling world of contradictions.' That captures so much of the dilemma in 13 words! Beyond that most of my thoughts on the subject are from an outsider and have no place here. I think you probably know where the sympathies of most of us foreigners live. This should be a Top Story soon I hope!

  • Dana Stewartabout a year ago

    Oh my, the signoff, January 7th , 2021 is so powerful. WOW. Great mind!

  • J. S. Wadeabout a year ago

    Powerful Lamar! And the invite is our true hope.! You have masterfully created a wonderful work. Wow. 🥰

  • Dean F. Hardyabout a year ago

    This is a very elegant swing at the challenge Lamar, and you knocked it out of the park. (See what I did there???) Congrats. I envision Top Story. And rightfully so.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.