Poets logo

Inextricably Intertwined

A poem about glorious longing by ED 6/6/22

By Emily DickersonPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
Inextricably Intertwined
Photo by Milan Popovic on Unsplash

I can already hear your heart

Reflected in the beating of mine

Though we are still separate, apart

Our beings are inextricably intertwined

You must know how I adore you, dear

I’ve dreamt of you so long

How I pray to ward off fear

Of undoing your melody’s song

What great joy do your thoughts beget

To light up my weary being

How you make me my pains forget

When the future is all I’m seeing

My tears of sorrow water the fields

Of sunflowers in full bloom

You turn them from weapons into shields

From needles to pillowy plumes

I will rock you to sleep by night

Sing you to sleep by day

No worries shall you fight

As I take them all away

Carefully I’ll lay them down

At the foot of the throne

Change your rags for a gown

In the place where your name is known

My darling, how precious art thou

Or rather the idea of you in my head

How I long to see you now

I, your mother, unpregnant and yet unwed.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Emily Dickerson

Hopeful and young, full of love. From my heart high praises are sung. For this reason I am here: to love and serve and bring all souls near. <3

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.