Poets logo

Indomitable

A human v Dinosaur show off

By Silver Serpent BooksPublished 24 days ago 1 min read
8
Indomitable
Photo by Mac Cervantes on Unsplash

It's a fight against the pulse of the planet,

Against teeth that sink through muscle

And scratch their initials into bone.

.

It's a fight against hotblooded terror

Running down feathered legs,

Smearing memories into the mud.

.

It was an accident.

Something brought back to today,

Or maybe we were slapped back to the past.

.

Growls like thunder gallop across the ground

And I know this is the end of something.

Of peace, of life, of normality.

.

Three-toed prints in the dirt.

Screaming skies.

Bleeding soil.

.

I can fight.

With fang and talon and will

I can fight the feral soul of the beast.

.

Eviscerate me.

With your historic dominance,

Destroy me, I dare you.

.

Millions of years have nothing

On the indomitable human spirit.

I have inherited it from you.

.

From the dust of your destruction,

The flames and ash and darkness flowing

Across my planet, I have stolen it.

.

I have inhaled the bits of your DNA

That let you roam as unconquerable kings

And will let nothing break my back.

.

I am flesh and bone, a sack of defenseless water,

But I was born of you,

Of this fixed-eyed beast drooling above.

.

Now, let's play, shall we?

Let's dance, you and I,

Monster to monster.

.

Let's see what wins out between an ancient beast

And a modern nightmare.

My will won't snap because it came from your ashes.

.

You best hope that claw rips the breath from my lungs

Or cuts the head clean off my shoulders,

Because elsewise, I will be the second death of you.

surreal poetrynature poetry
8

About the Creator

Silver Serpent Books

Writer. Interested in all the rocks people have forgotten to turn over. There are whole worlds under there, you know. Dark ones too, even better.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Kodah19 days ago

    Wowowow!! This was powerful, the ending was my favourite part! Incredibly written, Silver!💖

  • D.K. Shepard22 days ago

    Love the word choice for the title! Very fitting for the battle for face off you crafted! The lines “Let's see what wins out between an ancient beast And a modern nightmare” were my favorite

  • Novel Allen23 days ago

    I see you are prepared to fight to the death. Who will win the second round, this time what will come from the sky or the earth below. The gauntlet has been offered, the glove thrown. Well writ.

  • Whoaaaa, that was so freaking intense! I loved it!

  • Heather Hubler24 days ago

    Oooo, wow!! This was a sad, thought-provoking smackdown. That last stanza was fire. Great entry :)

  • angela hepworth24 days ago

    Absolutely awesome work here, wow!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.