Poets logo

Incinerate

My Daughter's Haiku Response to "Extinguish"

By J.C. RussePublished about a year ago 1 min read
6
Incinerate
Photo by Guido Jansen on Unsplash

Dead of night

1:08 AM

Heavy eyes

Home at last

The football team lost

Wait, what’s that?

Around her neck

Your hands are wrapped tight

She can’t breathe

Visible

One sided struggle

I’ll save you

Fireman

Supposed to save lives

Not take them

My eyes wide

Internal fire sparks

Flaming rage

Unconscious

Momma please wake up

Motionless

Roaring flames

The heat increases

I’ll burn you

2 AM

911 please help

Remain calm

Lingering

The smell of whiskey

As you yell

Blistering

Sweltering heat waves

Fury builds

Heart rate spikes

Adrenaline rush

You won’t win

I dare you

I’ll set you ablaze

You coward

Flames engulf

13180

Fieldstone Loop

White hot blood

Boils within my veins

How dare you

Flashing lights

They have come for you

You can’t win

December

19th of 2020

We survived

We await

Proper justice served

But oh man…

How I wish

To incinerate

That fireman

heartbreak
6

About the Creator

J.C. Russe

Brand new to writing, looking for new and creative ways to express myself and see what happens!

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Gina C.about a year ago

    Very powerful; well done! ❤️

  • Intense and powerful words

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Oh my goodness, this brought me to tears. What strength in the midst of such a scary situation. I can't even imagine. Thank you for sharing her words.

  • This made me so emotional. I'm so sorry that you and your daughter had to go through that 🥺 I'm just so glad she was in time to save you. I just hope you both are doing okay now

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.