Poets logo

Incarcerated

Ekphrastic Poem Inspired by Remedios Varo: Rheumatic Pain

By DaphsamPublished about a month ago 1 min read
10
Remedios Varo: Rheumatic Pain, Date: 1948 Source: https://www.wikiart.org/en/remedios-varo/rheumatic-pain-1948

fiery lacquers

licks at my amber hair

evolves into gray skeleton weavings

glazes my elegant gown into a

ashen cloak, I now must wear

**

prisoner of my own body

stabbing pain

**

blade’s biting edge

tears into my smooth skin

like a

poisonous snake

feeding on my soft sinewy

**

icy restraints

strains

my butterfly limbs.

**

grim guard to my own prison

no longer able to arise

and gaze out to the vibrant vista

**

devil’s infernal sharp scaffold

is my only pulsating panoramic,

shrouding me in earthy hues

**

palette knife’s scars

of unhealed wounds

on display

**

alas,

no beacon

of light here

just the bloody

canvas of my despair

**

Encaustic echos,

A silent decree

**

I pray

I plead

I implore

**

this game of life

will forge ahead

but for me….

I am out of moves

Image Source: https://www.wikiart.org/en/remedios-varo/rheumatic-pain-1948

EkphrasticMental Healthheartbreakart
10

About the Creator

Daphsam

Loving Wife, Mom, Dog Mom- A Dyslexic dreamer who never thought I could read or write. But life changed, and I conquered my fears. I am an artist, photographer, wordsmith and illustrator. Looking to weave stories and poems with my artwork.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (9)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knockabout a month ago

    Prayers & blessings, my friend.

  • C. Rommial Butlerabout a month ago

    Well-wrought! I love your selections of old paintings! I do the same to keep them in the cultural consciousness, or so I hope! Yet appearances can deceive, where there is way more inner space than outer space. Grace is conferred in ways unseen by eyes that seek only smiles or smiles that show not in the eye! She is turned to the pillar, chained to it, yes, with a knife in her back. But does she know something we don't know?

  • Grz Colmabout a month ago

    😊👏 Rich imagery! Could feel the ouches! 😕

  • Raymond G. Taylorabout a month ago

    Beautiful and powerful reflection on an artistic inspiration. Truly moving

  • Denise E Lindquistabout a month ago

    Wow! Powerful! I'm sorry if this is your pain!❤️

  • Mark Grahamabout a month ago

    This is a lot to think about.

  • Jean McKinneyabout a month ago

    This poem is beautiful, with its dark, powerful imagery. Wonderful work!

  • Staringaleabout a month ago

    This is an emotive reflection on despair and hopelessness. It effectively conveys a sense of vulnerability and powerlessness causing the reader to empathize with the speaker's emotional state. You put a lot of effort into this.

  • Talia Devoraabout a month ago

    Beautifully penned with so much truth and emotion!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.