Poets logo

Incandescent

We're Illuminating the Night

By Danielle Elizabeth AndrewsPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
10
Photo by Peter Tully via Flickr. Used under Creative Commons license.

My hips sway to a hypnotic beat.

I lead you onto the floor with the crook of a finger.

The sparkle in my eye promises ecstasy.

~

There's magic in your smile,

Wonder in my touch.

We flow together, ever so seamlessly.

~

This heat between us is purely volcanic.

The charisma you exude is magnetic.

You are the spark to my ignition,

The key to unlocking my heart.

~

We share a passion so incandescent.

Within your embrace, I feel the world float away.

Your touch incinerates my every nerve ending.

~

The room dissolves beneath a rapturous haze,

There's nothing in my sight except you

With that dazzling smile,

Your savvy wit, and fantastic backside.

~

There's magic upon my lips,

Wonder in your roving fingertips.

Taking my hand, you whisper huskily in my ear.

~

I brace myself for one hell of a ride,

Hoping this fire of ours will never subside.

Oh, we thrive

In the music of the night.

~

We exit the club, butterflies somersaulting within,

I glance at you, that handsome profile.

Fulfilling our every fantasy is where we'll begin.

Anticipation builds with each passing mile.

~

There's magic in your smile,

Wonder in my touch.

Nothing has ever mattered quite this much.

~

Coming together, we collide in the night.

You take me flying until the sky becomes light.

We burn with a flame

It's incandescently bright.

. . .

Photo Credit: Peter Tully via Flickr.

This poem was originally published on Medium.

If you've enjoyed reading this, please consider giving it a "like" by clicking on the ❤️! If you'd like to read more of my writing, be sure to subscribe! Tips and pledges are voluntary, and so greatly appreciated!

performance poetry
10

About the Creator

Danielle Elizabeth Andrews

An avid reader who also loves writing about all sorts of things (Life, love, family, books, poetry, the world around us).

Follow me on: Twitter and Medium

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.