Poets logo

In Time

Written to “Do Not Disturb” by Drake

By Alex AliceaPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

Time heals all the wounds you haven't recognized it yet because it's new to you

I'm preaching you the truth so listen to me while I'm speakin' to you

But I'm 22 now and I've got a lot to choose and do, There's a whole list full of things that I could that possibly lose

Going through my days like a man on a race never stopping for time to embrace

In recent events I'm alone again maybe it was so I could resurrect the old man

I pulled the plug on it since it wasn't meant to be and that's me speaking out truthfully

Don't know what you got until it's gone, it's quite the lesson that you'll learn later on

But thank me later for the advice, there's still more to come from living my life

Who'd of thought one bad night would overwrite the dreams, I spent five months contemplating an ever perfect scheme

Thrown out the record and starting new, only thing left to do when I'm trying to win you

Be the prize in my eyes, I swear in time we can find the things that made it all seem alive

I’m terrified I’m too alive I can barely see the light but I know I’ll keep on swinging because I know you’re worth the fight

Just for the record this is old. Not a current reflection of how I feel.

performance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.