Poets logo

In this moment

Que sera, sera

By Cassandra WarrenPublished 9 days ago Updated 9 days ago 1 min read
2

Scattered masses

In body

In mind.

Hours crawling

in languid design.

We are, but aren’t

in mind of one.

Still broken

and masters to none.

Little pockets, here and there

all talking, without a care.

And in my corner, here I stay

to watch the politics play.

Until that moment comes.

She walks in purpose, in my sight

and stops beneath the light.

She looks at me expectantly,

truth be told, incredulously.

Careless, like its night.

“Sing” she says, emphatically,

ignoring all the chatter.

And for once, to my surprise

my mistakes don’t matter.

Before there’s time

to play a mime

and shrink into my chair,

I sit up tall, addressing all

and take a breath of air.

The words flow forth effortlessly,

silencing both bays,

As the melody enchants,

gathering their gaze.

For once, I finish willingly.

For once

I’m not me.

Blushing to overt applause,

in this moment, I am free.

ProseSonnetinspirational
2

About the Creator

Cassandra Warren

Mom, USAF veteran, Lupus survivor, and aspiring writer. Take a stroll inside my mind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran9 days ago

    This felt so powerful and liberating! Loved your poem!

  • Fantastic poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.