Poets logo

In the Quiet of an Evening

For “Sensational” Submission

By Daniel LaiPublished about a year ago 1 min read
2
In the Quiet of an Evening
Photo by Max Saeling on Unsplash

On a quiet evening

I close my eyes and take a deeper breath

To allow my senses to take flight

As I soak up the world with my senses

I can smell the sweet scent of flowers

Whenever a gentle breeze passes by

Looking up at the stars

Trying to hear if there are still birds anywhere

At the park, I hear the rustling of leaves

As they dance in the moonlit street

It’s a sound that warms my heart

And fills me with peace and inspiration

I drank some cool water which I brought

As it quenches my thirst

A sensation that relieves the dryness in my throat

It refreshes my whole being

Now as I walk onto the soft grass

I removed my shoes to be barefooted

A texture that’s hard to appreciate

When we have become used to wearing shoes

As I looked up, the twinkle of stars was there

They lit up the dark sky

A sight that fills me with tranquillity

I marvel at the greatness of its Creator

Every sense is a gift to behold

A gateway to a world so diverse

It reminds a story of an unknown tomorrow

A feeling of awe fills my heart

In this quiet walk

I pause to reflect on my life

The journey where I can use all senses

To experience the beauty of this place

fact or fictionnature poetryinspirational
2

About the Creator

Daniel Lai

I enjoy writing something inspirational to provide ideas and tips for good living. Follow me if what I share resonates with you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.