Poets logo

In the Now

Life Goes On

By S. A. CrawfordPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Image: Brett Sayles via Pexels

I can't see me in the mirror,

only in pictures where the camera forces clarity.

The eyes of others can be so kind.

Stained in a rainbow of greys,

I no longer see in colour - just tones,

and flashes of light and dark.

You see, I never thought I would make it this far...

But life really does go on.

Not always a parade,

but more often a slog across higlands

and deep bogs.

Like Artax I flounder,

but have yet to go under.

The bridle bites tight enough to cut,

but is not really enough to hold.

What else is there to say?

The now is a pit with no ladder,

a maze with no center.

A junction I never planned to cross,

but I have books full of dreams...

And so it seems that I am never honest when I talk to my diary.

performance poetry
1

About the Creator

S. A. Crawford

Writer, reader, life-long student - being brave and finally taking the plunge by publishing some articles and fiction pieces.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.