Poets logo

In the Mind's Eye

Recovery and Overcoming PTSD

By MeKel LindSee EngelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

Chronologically

reflections in the mind's eye

look in the mirror

you won't always see the perfection of the scars

stretch marks, warrior stripes

pondering a new beginning for so

long, now is my chance

a second, third chance

to right my wrongs

retrospectively

I was a witness

threatened during my best friend's murder

was held at knife point

I was in mourning

no excuse for narcotics

I had to see darkness

to illuminate my mind

he's my spiritual guide

but it took struggle

to understand life's

gifts come in the energy

and vibes we send out

and will always receive back.

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

MeKel LindSee Engel

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Seriously Caring2 years ago

    Hmm... I just want to get over P.T.S.D. Thank you.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.