Poets logo

In the Darkness Valley Deep

I lay to rest in sublime sleep...

By Nicholas GoodmanPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like

In the darkness valley deep

I lay to rest in sublime sleep

To watch the world drift back to black

And hear the voices stop their attack

In weeping motion the dreams come to

As terror brings a bluish hue

The morning can't come soon enough

As nightmares tear the subtle stuff

My fears are realized by the sound

Of ghost and goblin moving round

The twisting wind that binds my soul

And reasons treason calls me null

Inside the background twirls about

And I, never knowing what to doubt

So stable soil becomes a dream

As reality tears about the seams

In sickened squabble I ravish time

Running, passing by the grime

Unsure of what is true to make

And which are grand, but quick to break

Lost in turmoil of my own thought

Spinning slowly, my soul is wrought

Wreck and havoc spill the blood

As I begin to wash the mud

Never knowing what is clean

I shine the windows with mossy green

Asking where the truth will lay

But feeling no refreshing sway

Say, the nightowl calls to me

Say what is really known to thee

I break down and curse the sky

Screaming, spitting, why oh why

Cobwebs linger in my head

Existential anxious dread

Here the madness rules supreme

Here the chaos scrubs me clean

nature poetry
Like

About the Creator

Nicholas Goodman

Poet. Writer. Avid Tea enthusiast. Truth seeker. Love maker. Wondering what makes the world smile and how I can create that in words.

https://www.instagram.com/alloflovespoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.