Poets logo

In the Dark Blue Waters

Getting through trials

By Cara GarnerPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
In the Dark Blue Waters
Photo by Das Sasha on Unsplash

Dark gray clouds overwhelmed me, taking over my heart.

Darker and darker they grew, I feared that they would never part.

The sea grew dark and angry as upon the waves I was tossed.

Deep in the dark blue waters, I became lost.

I panicked, kicking my arms and my legs as above water I tried to remain.

In the dark blue waters, I sunk as hollowness came with the pain.

I swallowed air one gulp at a time.

Trying to breathe became a struggle like an upward climb.

I flapped around, looking for someone to rescue me.

In the dark blue waters, I feared I would always be.

The stormy clouds gathered together, and lightning flashed in the sky.

This was it, in the dark blue waters, I knew I would die.

I could no longer survive this war or the battle’s fight.

I sunk more and more sometimes out of fright.

Emptiness filled within me as I struggled to make it through.

I doubted that there was anything more that I could do.

I was tired and wanted to give in to the waters dark and deep.

The will to continue on was the only thing I had left to keep.

In the dark blue waters, I was being swallowed up by.

This couldn’t be it, and I wasn’t ready to die.

My mind was shutting down, and my heart began to slow.

In the dark blue waters, I’d sink, and no one would know.

Then just as I was about to close my eyes one last time.

The sunlight peeked through to guide me in this battle’s climb.

As my arms and legs stopped kicking a peace filled my soul.

Like the soft calmness of the sunlight’s glow, making me feel whole.

In the pale light shined upon the dark blue waters that I had been tossed.

In the pale light, I began to feel less lost.

And above the waters, I felt my body begin to float.

Weakly out of the dark blue waters, I climbed back on the boat.

The clouds began to slowly part, and I gained another view.

I had made it through the trials, and the water was now less dark blue.

As I laid upon my back and looked up to the light blue sky.

I know that there will be more dark blue waters, but I would always try.

For as long as I don’t give up, in the dark blue waters, I will make it through.

And the clouds will part, giving me hope in the wonderful view.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Cara Garner

Enjoys writing, travel, movies, photography, being with friends and family

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.