Poets logo

In the Bunker

----------

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 7 months ago 1 min read
1

I step gingerly down the corridor

Feet sliding, shoes slipping

Grease of human remains

Stain the flooring...

Blobs, smears of bodily parts

Coat the walls, ceiling...

Drip from evey surface

I try to avert my eyes...

Not possible unless I stumble in the dark

My nostrils twitch at the miasma

Everywhere the stench of burst human

Bowels blown from the inside out

Blood, brains, bones

Paint the area like surreal abstract art

Tang of coppery blood permeates the air

So this is what happens when

A bomb is set off in a small space

Occupied by too many ...

We heard the shouts, screams

Felt the explosions rocking the building

This was supposed to be the safe place

The bunker where we would be safe

Little did we know they were already here

It may have been the clerk at the desk

Checking in those authorized for succor

A knowing smile on his face as he checked his list

Or the security officer posted by the elevator

Informing everyone to descend to floor L3

I don't know ...

We the elite, the scientists, the genetically pure

Were told to come here ...

Where we could work on rebuilding

Remaking civilization after ... well ..., after...

But I do know that in the absence of

Any remaining civilization above

With radiation clouds covering 90% of the surface

And now this ...

I'm not brave enough for this brave new world

I pick up a gun lying on the floor by what's left

Of what was once a NATO peace officer ...

Placing it to my head I close my eyes ...

Goodby

And, to anyone left

Good luck

social commentaryslam poetry
1

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran7 months ago

    I sooooo love the way this went. Like I would have done this as well. I'd be like "Bye suckers" and shot myself 🤣🤣🤣 I freaking loved your poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.