Poets logo

In the Box In the Box

Ensconced in Imaginary Safety

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 6 months ago 2 min read
4
In the Box In the Box
Photo by Markus Spiske on Unsplash

Inside my box is a box ...

When the world encroaches

I crawl inside it

Hiding mySelf

Hiding my vulnerable psyche

From the world outside

Keeping my essential Self ensconced

Cocooned in a spot of perceived calm

Nested ... Like a Chinese Doll ...

By Blake Weyland on Unsplash

Here I can lay on the cooling sand

Listening to the waves roll gently in

Here I can walk beneath a blue moon

Feel the caress of the spring breeze

Here I once again hear the voice

The crooning lullaby as my mother

Tries to sing me to sleep

Her lilting voice soothing

A balm to my wounded mind

As my father would hold me in his strong arms

Swearing to keep me safe from harm

By Kseniia Ilinykh on Unsplash

-------

Here I try to focus on the good

While attempting to ignore the evil

That exists outside my box within a box

Whilst the bad continues apace

Outside the box inside my box

My supposed life partner ...

He who was supposed to take over the job

Of keeping me safe

Providing a harbor of serenity and love

As he continues to rant.. rave.. bluster...

While I partake of the medicinal

Tincture of solitude ...

Even if only inside the box in my box

By Gary Meulemans on Unsplash

-------

My outside the box but inside my box box

Continues the necessities

Autonomic functions ... not automatic ...

No.. the only automatic response in my life

Is the cowering beneath the raised fist

The cringing at the angry slurs.. the blaming eyes

It regulates breathing, walking, seeing...

But that is all it does

As inside my box inside my box

I crouch...safe.. hidden from anger

Hidden from the heaped hurts

Until at last I emerge...

Only to find ... All the same ...

... ... ....

This poem was inspired by a lovely, sad, and very talented fellow poet here on vocal. It is for Dharrsheena Raja Segarran ... check out her page. You won't be disappointed (hopefully)

https://vocal.media/authors/dharrsheena-raja-segarran

surreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    The moment I saw your title, I knew it would be related to the poem you left in response to my comment on your poem. This was so brilliant and relatable! Loved this poem so much!

  • Test6 months ago

    Fantastic!!! Love it!!!❤️

  • Babs Iverson6 months ago

    Melancholy!!! Left some love ❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.