Poets logo

In the Between

A Poem After Pride

By Stephanie HoogstadPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Runner-Up in After the Parade Challenge
9
In the Between
Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

In the quiet places

Between the ruckus and the celebration

You will find me

Silent

Invisible

Alone

I scream my truth

No one hears me

By Stefano Pollio on Unsplash

In the lively places

Between each page

You will find me

Empowered

Strong

Content

I write my truth

Maybe someone will hear me

By Yannick Pulver on Unsplash

In the hidden places

Between normal and psychotic

You will find me

Introverted

Off-beat

Female

Omnisexual

I post my truth

So someone will finally hear me

By Steve Johnson on Unsplash

Between you and me

You will find a chasm

Massive

Growing

All-consuming

Frightening

I shout for you

Can you hear me?

By Alexander Sinn on Unsplash

In the quiet places

Between the ruckus and the celebration

You will find me

Longing

Wishing

Wondering

What is wrong with me?

I cry my truth

Will anyone hear me?

sad poetry
9

About the Creator

Stephanie Hoogstad

With a BA in English and MSc in Creative Writing, writing is my life. I have edited and ghost written for years with some published stories and poems of my own.

Learn more about me: thewritersscrapbin.com

Support my writing: Patreon

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Hayley Matto3 months ago

    In sadness comes empowerment! Proud of you for sharing and for beautifully sharing your journey! Much love to you <3

  • Celia in Underland3 months ago

    So sad and beautiful. I am so glad you wrote your truth Stephanie - I think so many peaple will resonate so deeplu with this piece, its a shame though that we have to go through so much just to be x 🤍

  • Mother Combs3 months ago

    💙

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.