Poets logo

In Search of Home

A Poem

By Mihaela VasilevaPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like
In Search of Home
Photo by Bogdan Cadar on Unsplash

When the day breaks,

a shy shadow awakes.

I, its keeper, follow

and my own guilt I swallow.

I know from the morning light

things must be mended and done right.

I know in my soul that was once my own

I am in search of a bright blue home.

I had seen it in my dreams,

its colour like teary streams.

I feel its warmth as I pass through.

I know I must stay, but I seemingly move.

A heart is carried in the home,

and in its tight dome

it beats and beats the dreary walls

and waits until I answer it calls.

I am pushed into the open space

where my arms are free yet lack grace.

I am moved by the sound of running water

and I look forward to see a mother.

She beckons me to follow her,

and I look around, just to be sure.

I have lost enough in these deep lifeless places.

Now, I've finally found my good graces.

The home, bright and blue,

was enough to carry me and you.

From what I could tell, it was more than enough.

It wasn't a trick; it was no bluff.

But the shadow was restless and it wasn't pleased.

"Leave now and go on," she evily teased.

I couldn't do it, I paid her no heed.

I didn't consider her, I had no need.

For I had found my haven, good and secure.

Nothing could destroy it, of this I was sure.

Who would want to diminish a colour so bright?

Who would waste away in the colourless night?

I stay in the blue home filled with light,

and in this conviction, I knew I was right.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Mihaela Vasileva

I write based on heart. I love based on thought. I think based on truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.