Poets logo

In Search Of....

By Gabriela EngelsPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
3
image by: 123RF

If tomorrow life is no longer as I know it to be

and the birds are no longer singing in the trees

If the quiet neighborhood that I called home

is an alley down a dead end zone

If all the people that I love

are no longer there to give me a hug

If the sound of laughter is replaced with hunger

and the roaring that I hear is the sound of thunder

If everything I own is no longer mine

and all that I am left with is the passing of time

I will reach for the sky and hope for a star

to take my tired mind on a journey afar

Beyond what I have known

and into a place where lo and behold

I can fly like a sparrow

and free my thoughts of sorrow

to come face to face with whom I want to be

to come face to face with my destiny

for forgiveness has been a stranger to me

but forgiveness will set me free

because it’s never too late for a fresh start

because living is learning from the heart

inspirational
3

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.