Poets logo

In My Wildest Dreams

and other fantasies

By Bugsy WattsPublished about a year ago 1 min read
1
In My Wildest Dreams
Photo by Laya Clode on Unsplash

I dreamt of falling, like I did every night,

wondering why dreams look like northern lights.

I often fell into the depths of the swirling worlds

I sung into silence

like the sirens I knew existed

in the shadows of my wildest fantasies.

Then I was caught.

I wished to be caught in the twisted net

of the giant arachnid that injected me with its venom.

It was preferable to being caught stark naked

in a poorly lit hallway lined with familiar faces

and pointing fingers.

So I ran.

I ran in slow motion down the hallway made of quicksand

and dug my heels in so deep

I turned the the sand to water

with the power of my feet.

And I waded with desperation to escape

the pursuing snake that skimmed atop the water

on the hunt for a meal.

I could not look away from its comical fangs

like a sabre-toothed tiger that stalked me

in the time before I could understand extinction.

As I stared at its teeth, mine began to give way

and fell out of my mouth

plinking onto the deck of the ship I was steering

because the captain had fallen overboard.

I admired the sails as they billowed and plumed

pulling the creaky mast into the sea of clouds

and guiding me

into the open air

where I was suddenly flying,

how did I get there?

I soared through the air while staring at my feet

not understanding how it could possibly be

until I looked straight up at the hero carrying me

and wished I could remember his name from the movie.

Then he let go and I was falling again

this time landing right in my bed,

where I had been all along on this crazy night.

I woke with confusion

and amazingly, no fright.

Until the boogeyman peered out from the open closet door.

surreal poetryvintageart
1

About the Creator

Bugsy Watts

Got bit by the writing bug.

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/bugsywattspoetry/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.