Poets logo

In my Mind

Home

By Christine PicasciaPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
In my Mind
Photo by Frank Albrecht on Unsplash

Home is not a place to exist

Rather a feeling we carry inside,

So we can get to it from any place

if we think it in our mind.

I close my eyes and think of baking bread

I smell it so close by,

My mother's hand, calloused and old

rolling it side to side.

I see myself at 5 years old

Running wild and free without care,

I remember those days with sweet nostalgia

Longing to be brought back there.

I feel my Nonna's warm embrace

Wishing she could be by my side,

I hear her voice inside dreams

Telling me she's always close by.

The laughter of a group of friends

Going out to have a meal,

Reminiscing of old times we had

Before the world got real.

The light of a sunrise on the horizon

Brings the calm and all the feels,

Watching it with a loved one too

Can take away any ordeals.

I see my child's wonderous gaze

Hear her giggle and sweet sweet voice,

Watch her grow and learn with pride

Knowing this would always be my first choice.

My light blue blanket on the couch

I can feel the fleece warm on my skin,

My kids and I underneath it all

Watching a movie begin.

Soft fur on a cat and the song of a bird

Watching a deer roam in the field,

The sound of a river, a hike in the forest

Makes the body and soul feel healed.

A Thanksgiving meal with family around

The taste and smell and sight,

The Christmas lights the smell of cold

The quiet of the night.

The summer crickets and smell of rain

Brings joy back to my soul,

The childhood ignorance of life and love

The feeling that brings me home.

I hear the waves of the rolling sea

I feel at peace once more,

Now my mind is my safe anchor,

I see the sand upon the shore.

So you see, home is not just to arrive

Rather a memory, a thought, a sense,

It's in our mind at all times

Just think and it will present.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Christine Picascia

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.