Poets logo

In Memoriam

A free verse poem

By Christina MariePublished 4 years ago 1 min read
2
Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

In Memoriam

Giant pillars stood there

rooted in their weaknesses,

wearing their faces of sin.

Tears like ashes

spread across their cheeks.

Smiles, no one wanted

to smile.

Pillars wrapped in cloaks

of brick and color and voice.

Their stained-glass faces

depict gifts I still

don't deserve.

("Paint it black and take it back.")

I walked in,

crows on my shoulders

feathers in my skin

dust pouring out of my eyes

and watched them speak of you.

I wish I had been there

to see you reaching out

wooden fingers

An empty casket arm

trying to bridge the space

Between your brokenness

and His glory.

I am glad He took your hand.

Your dust swept away…

may black-winged birds be light

and quick with your soul!

He's been waiting for you.

Thank you for reading my poem In Memoriam. If you wold like to read more of my work--show some support. I am new to this platform and considering moving some of my work here.

To all you poets out there—POET on!! I support you!

~Christina, @fnfwriter on Twitter, Insta, and Medium

surreal poetry
2

About the Creator

Christina Marie

A -writing she must go...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.