Poets logo

In Circles

By Jess Boyes

By Jess BoyesPublished 14 days ago 1 min read
Top Story - June 2024
Image - Depositphotos Black and white spiral background

“I mean, I don’t even know where to start”

“Try the beginning”

“But where is that?”

“Not at the end”

“Do you want us to depart?”

“No, sorry”

“Or do you want us to mend?”

“Go on, begin.”

“But….wait….what?”

“You were saying…”

“Bah! I lost my train of thought”

“I thought you wanted to talk?”

“I did, but”

“But what?”

“Dammit! I forgot! But, I know it was something.”

“Or maybe it was nothing”

“Maybe if you stopped interrupting!”

“Ok, ok, sorry. Start from the beginning”

“But I don’t even know where to start”….

performance poetry

About the Creator

Jess Boyes

From Melbourne, Australia, I love creative writing and food, particularly a good quality cheese or some sort of dairy.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (16)

  • Dr. Jason Benskinabout 21 hours ago

    Congratulations on having your story featured as a top story on Vocal! This is a remarkable achievement, and it's clear why your work has received such recognition. Your storytelling is truly exceptional. The narrative was not only compelling but also beautifully crafted, holding my attention from start to finish. The way you developed the characters and plot was masterful, making the story both engaging and thought-provoking. Your unique voice and perspective shine through, setting your work apart. It’s evident that you poured a lot of passion and effort into this piece, and it has certainly paid off. I look forward to reading more of your incredible stories in the future. Keep up the fantastic work! Best regards, Dr. Jay

  • Andrea Corwin 7 days ago

    Yeah, OK, this sounds like a conversation I have regularly, LOL. Nice Job!! Congrats on TS.

  • Sweileh 8887 days ago

    hank you, I am happy with your exciting stories. Follow my stories now

  • Ameer Bibi13 days ago

    Great job you have done dude Love it Many congratulations on TS

  • Hannah Moore13 days ago

    Love the sense of hopeless circularity! Very well done.

  • Jane Katt13 days ago

    This dialogue is so real and relatable! Thanks for sharing this slice of life.

  • Hahahahahaha I loved how you made it loop! Congratulations on your Top Story! 🎉💖🎊🎉💖🎊

  • I love this poem! It feels so sassy but also oddly vulnerable. Great job and congrats on Top Story!

  • TahimaAni13 days ago

    well done dear!!!

  • Carmen Henigin13 days ago

    I love this! Well done!

  • Margaret Brennan13 days ago

    Congrats on TS. This sounds exactly like a conversation I have with a friend of mine. No matter what I try to say, she always interrupts. Oh well. Perhaps that's why I write stories. No interruption there, wait? What was that?

  • Cathy holmes13 days ago

    Lol. That was great. I swear I've had this exact conversation. Congrats on the TS.

  • This is exactly what it means when you aren’t in synch with someone great piece!

  • Paul Stewart13 days ago

    Well hot diggidy - Top Story in no time at all!

  • Matthew Fromm13 days ago

    ooo i like this one a lot, had a certain mindbending quality to it while still being very very relatable.

  • Paul Stewart14 days ago

    Oh...I so get this. Very relatable. Well written, Jess, as always!

Jess BoyesWritten by Jess Boyes

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.