Poets logo

In Between

A poem about my place in the world

By Breanne RandallPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1

“After” balloons me with hope

That crashes in the silence

Of injustice and hate

But most of all, it prepares me

For the next Before

As I wait, hope rekindled

On the match of humanity

That yes, lets me down

But ignites that desire for more

So perhaps it’s the

In

Between

That hurts the most

Counting down for unity

Soft as my baby’s skin

Hard as my hope for their future

Fragile as the tears that slip into my pillow

In those moments I’m hollow

My fingers grasping for words

That drip like dreams from

A wound that never heals

Lost, I think

Lost, in the moments when I’m wandering

Between months that divide some and unite some

Lost, in the moments when I don’t have words

For who I am or what they say or why they do

Lost, for ways to show that those times

In

Between

Are the miracles

Miracles, of fighting together

Someone to fight with

Miracles, of losing hope

The privelege of having it in the first place

Miracles, of finding it again

Ready to tide me over as I chase the

Before

The after

The

In

Between

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Breanne Randall

I'm an agented author with IGLA, writing short stories and sharing traditional publishing/querying how to's while my book is on submission. Thanks for stopping by!

Find me on Instagram @houseofrandall

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.