Poets logo

in 2024, i’ll fall in love with hope again.

a reflection + poem

By Huan Huan Published 5 months ago 1 min read
3

(Yes, the title and content of this post is inspired by the words in the title Lancali’s book, I Fell in Love with Hope) Disclaimer: I never read it, though I want to.

~

As it’s the end of the year, my mind naturally gravitates toward reflecting on everything I’ve achieved this year and what I want to achieve. And I’m not sure if it is just me, but people (including me) tend to occupy this negative worldview, that we could’ve done more.

At least that’s how I feel.

After several days with introspective hour-long walks in the park, I’ve come to the conclusion that I’ve too far embraced my fear of failure.

And fear of failure is closely entwined with my fear of hope. Which is tied to my fear of disappointment, of course. Deep, soul-crushing disappointment.

Yet, hope is what pushes us into our discomfort. It’s the very fabric of being human. Hoping for something brings us so much more happiness than getting the thing itself.

So in 2024, I’m going to bring hope back into my life.

Enjoy the poem!

~ Huan Huan

holidng hands, symbolizing hope

HOPE

my latest fear is a pretty thing called hope

really it’s shielding my impending disappointment

sometimes i’ll hope because i think it is very much possible

just to drown when it never happens

but i’ve been afraid to hope

i hope with a guilty conscience

or i hope very lightly, telling myself

it won’t matter if i’m disappointed

at least i’m alive, right?

i don’t need change

i don’t need discomfort

i just need breath in my lungs

~

If you thought about something new as a result of reading, consider leaving a ❤ or even a tip! Your support means a lot to me.

Free Verse
3

About the Creator

Huan Huan

self published poet, daydreamer, romanticizer of life - instagram @hhc_author - check out my book here! ~ https://linktr.ee/italicstheworld/

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Anna 4 months ago

    I love it! Well written!

  • Your poem was very poignant and emotional as well. I found it very relatable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.