Poets logo

Imbolc

somewhere between

By Cali LoriaPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1
Imbolc
Photo by Erol Ahmed on Unsplash

I'm not a good person

though I give good face

I saved a baby once

lost another one too

shrinking

skirt chasing

he said I've got to let go of

mortal terror the umbilical cord I snapped

around my twin flesh

swallowed all of her emotion

got this diagnosis

to prove it

follows

fallow

fallen

risen

sobered

got sober to get

growing

flowing

flocks in formation

struck by damnation

when someone veers

south

of the border

emotional hoarder

crossed over

gave my best wishes

flying fishes

biting at the bit

chasing one more hit

of ephemeral action

history redaction

of my complex reaction

to the ethos around me

this town that confounds me

Odysseus mounting

a plan for necromancy

with my family around me

the dead one

too

until it's just you

remove all the obstacles

find oration like

popsicles

any substitute is the brand

now I'm brand new

and the irony is

I'm so good

to you

Free Verse
1

About the Creator

Cali Loria

Over punctuating, under delivering.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.